Colorado Car Insurance Minimums

May 03, 2022
  • Car insurance is an important tool for drivers to have. It protects drivers financially in the event of an accident, theft, or other vehicle-related damages or losses. In most states, car insurance is required by law in order to operate a vehicle on public roads.

    Required by the State

    In Colorado, all drivers are required to have liability car insurance. Before you hit the road, you need to make sure you have a policy that meets the minimum coverage requirements set forth by the state to ensure drivers injured in an accident caused by you are covered. These requirements are in place to protect both you and other drivers in the event of an accident.

    Bodily Injury – This coverage applies to individuals injured in a motor vehicle accident. Colorado requires a minimum of $25,000 coverage for one person injured and $50,000 for all persons injured.

    Property Damage – This is meant to cover the costs of another party’s property damage caused by you. Colorado requires $15,000 in property damage coverage.

    Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

    Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UM/UIM) provides protection in the event that you are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. While the state does not require this type of coverage, it is strongly recommended, as the financial burden of an accident can be significant.

    If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, you may be left to cover your own medical expenses, damage to your vehicle, and lost wages. In addition, if the other driver is underinsured, their insurance may not cover the full extent of your damages. As a result, UM/UIM insurance can provide peace of mind in knowing that you are protected against the risks posed by uninsured and underinsured motorists.

    Consequences of Driving Without Insurance

    Driving without car insurance in Colorado can result in several penalties. From fines and license suspensions to community service and even jail time, the consequences of driving without insurance are not worth the risk.

    • First Offense – $500 fine, license suspended until insurance is obtained, 4 points on driving record.
    • Second Offense – At least $1,000 fine, license suspended for 4 months, up to 40 hours community service, 4 points on driving record, possible 10 days to 1 year in jail.
    • Third and Counting Offenses – At least $1,000 fine, license suspended for 8 months, up to 40 hours community service, 4 points on driving record, possible 10 days to 1 year in jail.

    If you are at fault while driving without insurance, you may be liable for damages. This means that if the other driver suffers injuries or property damage, you could be held accountable for thousands of dollars in medical bills or repairs. In short, driving without car insurance is a risky proposition that can lead to serious financial consequences.

    Denver Car Accident Attorneys

    Boesen Law is committed to helping victims who have been injured in crashes caused by someone without insurance. We realize the financial and emotional toll that these accidents can take, and we will work relentlessly to get you the justice you deserve.

    Contact us today at or fill out a form online to schedule a free consultation, and let us help you get the justice you deserve.